Search the Archive

Election Results #1012320

ABC Special for Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004

Material supplied by VTNA may be used for educational analysis or research only. Any editing, reproduction, publication, rebroadcast, public showing or public display may be prohibited by copyright laws.

  • Live ABC coverage and analysis of the results of the 2004 presidential, congressional, and state elections.
  • Local coverage is provided by Nashville anchors Victoria Hansen and Bob Mueller, correspondent Scott Froelich, correspondent Chris Bundgaard at local Bush Headquarters, correspondent Mike Browning at local Kerry headquarters, and correspondent Melissa Penry.
  • National coverage is provided by anchor Peter Jennings, political analyst George Stephanopoulos, correspondent Jake Tappert, NBC political director, Mark Halperin, Ted Koppel at Kerry Headquarters in Boston, Massachusetts, Correspondent Terry Moran at the White House, John Quinones in Miami-Dade County, Florida, and correspondent Kate Snow.
  • Analysis is provided by former mayor of New York City, Rudolph Giuliani, journalist George Will, Cokie Roberts, Fareed Zakaria, and former Senator Bob Kerrey (D-NE).
  • During this hour, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Kansas, Nebraska, Texas, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Alabama, and Oklahoma are declared for President George W. Bush, while Delaware, Connecticut, Maine, New Jersey, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and the District of Columbia are called for Senator John Kerry (D-MA).
  • The following Senate races are called: Illinois for Barack Obama (D), Missouri for Kit Bond (R), Alabama for Richard Shelby (R), Connecticut for Chris Dodd (D), New Hampshire for Judd Gregg (R), and Maryland for Barbara Mikulski (D), Ohio for George Voinovich (R), Arizona for John McCain (R), Wisconsin for Russ Feingold (D), New York for Charles Schumer (D), Kansas for Sam Brownback (R), North Dakota for Byron Dorgan (D), Oklahoma for Tom Coburn (R), and Arkansas for Blanche Lincoln (D).
  • Reporter(s):
    Tappert, Jake;
    Froelich, Scott;
    Browning, Mike;
    Penry, Melissa;
    Bundgaard, Chris;
    Halperin, Mark;
    Koppel, Ted;
    Moran, Terry;
    Quinones, John;
    Snow, Kate

    Note to sponsor members: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive video player requires a modern operating system and browser to work properly. If you are experiencing playback problems, check the minimum requirements and adjust your setup accordingly. After adjustments, if you continue to experience problems, please contact us.

    Welcome! Above is the abstract of the item that you're interested in viewing from the Vanderbilt Television News Archive's collection. You have three options if you'd like to view this item:

    • You may request a loan of this video by registering on our website and placing an order.
    • You may visit the Television News Archive on the Vanderbilt campus to view on-site from the Archive's collection.
    • If you are associated with a college or university, you may ask your library if they would like to become a sponsor, which would give students and faculty at your institution the ability to view items from our collection.

    If you believe that you are associated with a sponsoring college or university and have received this message in error, please let us know.